Mini Wrap Up and Reviews: Summer Holiday Reads!

My mini wrap up comes now I have come back from my summer holiday. I read six books over the two weeks (3rd-17th of July) which I think is good, and this means I have pushed my Goodreads 2014 reading challenge up to 23 books read out of 30.

The books I read are:

1. A Monstrous Regiment of Women- Laurie.R. King.

Pages: 316
Read between: 3rd and 5th of July.
Rating: 5/5 stars.

The second book in the Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes series, I enjoyed this book much better than the first. I have a feeling this may be because Mary is much more closer to my own age and has matured quite a bit since the first book. She gets involved with politics and religion, and has a better social life. She’s much more independent and follows cases up on her own, although she and Holmes do still work and associate with each other. We see another side of Holmes however, when Mary is kidnapped, leading to a romance that could have been unnecessary but fitted in nicely at the end, with an elderly Holmes proposing to 21 year old Mary. All in all, it has a mix of adventure, and the narrative does flow. I enjoyed it and will definitely be picking up the third in the series.

2. Dust and Shadow- Lyndsay Faye
Pages: 322
Read between: 5th and 7th of July.
Rating: 5/5 stars.

This book is amazing. It mixes Sherlock Holmes and the Ripper murders perfectly.
The police of H Division come to Holmes when the murders keep coming- of course, Sherlock solves the case, although for spoilers I won’t reveal the killer.
However, there are many exciting twists and turns with Holmes being blamed as Jack the Ripper, but it is written well. Lyndsay manages to write Watson’s voice and Doyle’s style perfectly. The whole story is perfect and I felt myself recognising names I knew from Ripper adaptations (Whitechapel, Ripper Street.) which made the book even more enthralling. I would probably say this book is my favourite book of 2014 so far. A ++

3. The Longest Holiday- Paige Toon (ebook format)
Pages: 400
Read between: 7th and 8th of July
Rating: 5/5 stars.

This book was a perfect contemporary to read by the pool. It follows Laura, who after finding out her husband of six months slept with someone else on his stag do (and said girl is pregnant), decides to escape on a girly holiday with her best friends. There’s romance, there’s fun, and also drama. I wanted her to forgive her husband but sometimes, not every story ends how you want it to. Laura still got her happy ending, and I liked how the book ended. It was sweet.

4.The Host- Stephenie Meyer (ebook format)
Pages: 611
Read between: 8th July – 10th July
Rating: 5/5 stars.

As the sequel is supposedly coming out sometime in the future I decided to re-read this book, and it is probably my favourite Stephenie Meyer book. The fight between Wanderer and Melanie for control of Melanie’s body is very well written. You really understand Wanderer’s emotions, she’s a soul in a human body willing to be accepted, and although in the end, she is, you can feel her struggle. I have not seen the film but after my re-read I want to, I just hope it doesn’t let me down.

5. Or is that just me?- Richard Hammond
Pages: 252
Read between: 10th and 11th of July
Rating: 3/5 stars.

As much as I love Richard Hammond, I feel that his third autobiography was very short. It was funny, and personal, everything you would expect from an autobiography, but at just over 250 pages I feel that there could have been more. Nevertheless, it was an enjoyable read and I recommend it if you want to know more about the short one off of Top Gear.

6. The Hobbit- J.R.R. Tolkein. (ebook format)
Pages: 280
Read on: 11th July
Rating: 4/5 stars.

A classic story, I love the adventures of Bilbo and the gang. I re-read this to prepare myself for when the third film comes out this December. The story will always have a place in my heart. It’s a lot shorter than I remembered but there is still enough plot to create a good story. The only reason I gave it four out of five stars, was because I was picky and the typos in my edition sometimes confused me. All in all though, a good book.

_________
So that is everything I read during my summer holiday. I am currently reading the first in the Lord of the Rings trilogy, which I hope to finish soon- so expect a review for that.
Happy reading!
-Katie. (sherlockianbooklover)

Leave a Reply

