Review: The Lord of the Rings- The Two Towers.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars.

So, this book once again took me over two weeks to read. They’re heavy on description but it was still fantastic. Samwise Gamgee is a character I wanted to not like but after reading Two Towers, he’s become one of my favourite of the four main Hobbits in the story.

In the second installment of the trilogy, the story is focused on Frodo and Sam after they ran away from Boromir before he was killed (spoiler!). I liked this, as it gave a different perspective to the adventure to that of The Company. Although I did feel that the lack of The Company made the book less enjoyable than I hoped, it picked up and I got used to the conversation between Frodo, Sam- and sometimes Gollum, as it was much easier to follow.

Speaking of Gollum, the change in his character was welcomed, but I was not surprised that he turned out to be betraying Frodo and Sam, because, although his multiple personalities can make you feel sorry for him, he’s still a freaky little worm.

The description of Shelob was very good- a giant spider is terrifying in all forms, so reading it- I got shivers. Although, I did think she was a dragon at the very beginning- but that was my own fault, not Tolkein’s. Tolkein can do no wrong.
I will mention the things I didn’t like- the lack of The Company was something I didn’t expect.
I expected it to flick between the two so when it didn’t I found myself wondering what they were doing, but this didn’t take away anything from the story in front of me.

All in all, I enjoyed it. The cliffhanger at the end makes me want to move straight onto the third one, which I will- but I’ll read other books in between because the time it takes to read one of the trilogy, I can’t get to reading other books that I would like to. I may wait a while before picking up Return of the King and will catch up when I finally decide to read it.

Very good book.
I would recommend it if you have the patience to stick with it- and the time to read it.

Leave a Reply

