Review: Hollow Earth by John and Carole E. Barrowman

I received this book from Michael O’Mara publishing, from their children’s books sector- Buster Books, in exchange for an honest review.

I am a fan of John Barrowman from Doctor Who and Torchwood, so when I heard he was a writer too, I jumped at the chance to read something. The Hollow Earth series is the first of his and his sisters children’s books.
Hollow Earth is set in Scotland, and follows two twins, Emily and Matt Calder, as they discover what their powers of imagination can really do.

This book is middle grade, so the chapters are short but I found myself flying through it. There’s drama, there’s humour, but most of all I love following Matt and Emily as their powers get stronger and their drawings stay animated in reality for longer. It shows you that imagination can be a powerful thing- which is perfect for book lovers who imagine themselves into the fictional worlds of the pages they read.

I also liked the fact that one of the main characters of the book, Zach, was deaf. It gave a different view of things when things were written from his point of view- although the book is in the third person, you can still find yourself understanding what the characters are feeling- especially when the climax of the story happens.

Needless to say, this book was much better than I expected.
I cannot wait to move onto the second one- which I will do sometime in the future.

I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars and I think that that rating is deserved.

Leave a Reply

