Review: The Lord of The Rings, The Return of the King by J.R.R Tolkein.

lord-return

Sorry it’s blurry

I have finally finished the epic fantasy series that is the Lord of the Rings trilogy! Yay!

The final installment of the trilogy went by a lot quickly than the previous two. It must be shorter but my Kindle version does no include page numbers so I could be wrong. However, I did not enjoy this one as much as the previous ones despite the fact I flew through it. I felt it was written just to finalise the adventure and pull everything together, rather than continuing in the same epic proportions and battles that I had read in FOTR and Two Towers.

However, I did like this book. I was annoyed that Frodo had the ring taken from him by Gollum and was not able to destroy it but I liked the way the chapters followed him and Sam, and then Pippin and Merry, before bringing the company back together as they reversed their journey back to the Shire- where, in fact, they had to reclaim their homeland from the Shirrifs.

The battle was one of my favourite scenes.
Another of my favourite part of the book was at the end, with the appendixes adding some extra knowledge about characters and the time period of the novel- which helped give me a better understanding, so to speak.

Tolkien never fails with description of course, but I have enjoyed this trilogy. I was glad that Sam was happy in the end and did not cling to Frodo- which was the reason he annoyed me at the beginning.

The characters grew on me and in the end all the Hobbits are characters I treasured as the story came to an end.
4/5 stars.
I didn’t enjoy this one as much as the others-which is why I have lowered my rating.

Leave a Reply

