Book Haul!

WIN_20140918_170207

As I have only bought three books in the last couple of months, (August and September) I have managed to gain three books. One is a stand alone and two are part of series.

The first book I purchased is Broadchurch by Erin Kelly. It is the book of the ITV show starring David Tennant and Olivia Coleman. I got it for £3.99 in Sainsbury’s
The synopsis is as follows:
In the sleepy British seaside town of Broadchurch, Detective Ellie Miller has just returned from vacation, only to learn that she’s been passed over for a promotion at work in favor of outsider Alec Hardy. He, escaping the spectacular failure of his last case, is having trouble finding his way into this tight-knit community wary of new faces. But professional rivalry aside, both detectives are about to receive some terrible news: 11-year-old Danny Latimer has been found murdered on the beach.

For Ellie it’s a personal blow; Danny was her older son’s best friend. She can’t believe anyone in Broadchurch would ever have harmed him. But Alec considers everyone, even Danny’s parents, suspect in his death. It’s a living nightmare for everyone involved…even before the press arrive and start stirring up the secrets every town member keeps hidden behind closed doors.

An intimate portrait of a town and the ordinary grievances that have slowly simmered for years before boiling over in an unthinkable crime, this remarkable adaptation of the hit television show Broadchurch tells the story of a shattered family, a reeling town, and the two imperfect detectives trying to bring them answers.’

I hope that it will be as good as the show and, although I know what happened, I hope the book will be just as thrilling.

The second book I purchased was The Red Queen by Philippa Gregory, which I picked up in a charity shop for 99p. I already own The White Queen, the first book in the Cousins of War series, so I hope to marathon them soon. I think there may be another in the series but I am unsure.
The second book in Philippa’s stunning new trilogy, The Cousins War, brings to life the story of Margaret Beaufort, a shadowy and mysterious character in the first book of the series – The White Queen – but who now takes centre stage in the bitter struggle of The War of the Roses.

The Red Queen tells the story of the child-bride of Edmund Tudor, who, although widowed in her early teens, uses her determination of character and wily plotting to infiltrate the house of York under the guise of loyal friend and servant, undermine the support for Richard III and ultimately ensure that her only son, Henry Tudor, triumphs as King of England.

Through collaboration with the dowager Queen Elizabeth Woodville, Margaret agrees a betrothal between Henry and Elizabeth’s daughter, thereby uniting the families and resolving the Cousins War once and for all by founding of the Tudor dynasty.”

I love Philippa Gregory’s Tudor series so I am excited to read a series set in a different time period.

Finally I got The Devil Wears Prada by Lauren Weisberger. I also picked this up in a charity shop for £1. I have seen the film, but I have always wanted to read it since I have found it that it was in fact a book.
When Andrea first sets foot in the plush Manhattan offices of Runway she knows nothing. She’s never heard of the world’s most fashionable magazine, or its feared and fawned-over editor, Miranda Priestly. But she’s going to be Miranda’s assistant, a job millions of girls would die for. A year later, she knows altogether too much: That it’s a sacking offence to wear anything lower than a three-inch heel to work. But that there’s always a fresh pair of Manolos for you in the accessories cupboard. That Miranda believes Hermes scarves are disposable, and you must keep a life-time supply on hand at all times. That eight stone is fat. That you can charge cars, manicures, anything at all to the Runway account, but you must never, ever, leave your desk, or let Miranda’s coffee get cold. And that at 3 a.m. on a Sunday, when your boyfriend’s dumping you because you’re always at work, and your best friend’s just been arrested, if Miranda phones, you jump. Most of all, Andrea knows that Miranda is a monster who makes Cruella de Vil look like a fluffy bunny. But also that this is her big break, and it’s going to be worth it in the end. Isn’t it?

It sounds just like something I would like to read as I am always interested in adult contemporary and based around the fashion industry which is something that I am always interested in. (I’m addicted to Project Runway.)

I hope I will enjoy these books and those that I don’t I can easily donate or give away.
If you have read any of this, let me know, and if not, what books have you added to your shelves recently?

One thought on “Book Haul!

Leave a Reply

