Review: Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro.

Never_Let_Me_Go

Read between: 18th September 2014- 4th October 2014
Number of pages: 282
Rating: 5/5 stars.

The first thing to say about Never Let Me Go is that the story is very heartfelt. The story follows three friends, Kathy, Ruth and Tommy through their childhood at Hailsham to adulthood, which is where they start to become the purpose of what they were made for. They’re not the normal human characters we expect in the story. They’re clones, built for the purpose that when they get to a certain age, they start to donate their internal organs for medical science.

Having seen the film with Carey Mulligan, Andrew Garfield, and Keira Knightley (which I would recommend because it’s very good) I already knew the story, however, their were some subtle differences between the two which I liked because it meant, for once, a film didn’t completely ignore the book.

I thoroughly enjoyed this story. It is a story I will treasure as it offers a different sort of aspect to life than the one I am used to reading about. I think the variety in that makes for some good storytelling.

Although I am unsure what genre Never Let Me Go falls under, there is an element of science fiction due to the mention of cloning. It has hints of science fiction in the fact it is a fictional story about science, not science fiction in the space and time travel sort of way.

Warning.
It is very sad. Characters die. It made me think about how much I take my own life for granted. I would love to read more of Ishiguro’s work and I would definitely recommend this book to anyone.

2 thoughts on “Review: Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro.

Leave a Reply

