Review: The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde.

Date started: 3rd November 2014
Date finished: 28th November 2014
Rating: 3/5 stars.

The first thing I can say about this story is that it is strange. A boy who longs for youth and love becomes twisted and narcissistic. As I read more and more I slowly started to hate him.

However, character traits aside, I really enjoy Wilde’s writing style , he describes his characters very well that I had a perfect picture of them in my head. One downside is that most of the characters are male- I didn’t mind this but sometimes their interactions were predictable, especially Lord Henry and Dorian as they always seemed to follow the same sort of thing/conversation.

It does have a dark, almost supernatural twist, with a cursed painting contributing to Dorian’s eternal youth but that is probably the most exciting thing that happens in a very Victorian plotline.

I wanted to read more classics and now I can cross it off my list, but it isn’t a favourite of mine, which is probably why it took me so long to get through. If you like gothic, Victorian fiction, then I would recommend it. However, I only gave it 3/5 stars.

Leave a Reply

