Top Ten Tuesday: Freebie! – Top Ten Sherlock Holmes related novels

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. Every week they post a new top ten list and invite everyone to share their answers. This week was a freebie so I am sharing my Top Ten Sherlock Holmes related novels.

(to be honest, it shouldn’t be a surprise 😉 )

1. The Sherlock Holmes Collection by Arthur Conan Doyle.

The originals have to be top of the list! The series is made up of four novels: A Study in Scarlet, A Sign of Four, The Hound of the Baskervilles and The Valley of Fear, and four collections of short stories: The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes, The Return of Sherlock Holmes, The Casebook of Sherlock Holmes and His Last Bow. There is a reading order, but it doesn’t really matter as long as you start with A Study in Scarlet.

If you like Sherlock, or crime/mystery novels, and want a piece of quality Victorian Fiction then I would whole heartedly recommend these. Arthur Conan Doyle may have hated Sherlock Holmes but if you read these novels you will definitely love them.

2. The Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes series by Laurie.R.King
Mary-Russell-Sherlock-Holmes-complete-set
I have only read the first three books of these, and although some of them have their flaws, Russell and Holmes are a good team- even when they end up getting married. I loved the first three books- and although there are a lot of books in this series I will definitely continue with it. Would recommend if you want something different to the originals.

3. The House of Silk by Anthony Horowitz. (click on the cover for my review)
images
Anthony Horowitz is now the new official Sherlock Holmes author by the Conan Doyle estate (I could be wrong). His novel House of Silk is written in the style of Conan Doyle and he has Holmes and Watson’s mannerisms down to a key. It takes a dark turn but it is a must read for any Sherlock Holmes fan.

4. Mrs Hudson’s Diaries by Barry Cryer and Bob Cryer. (click on the cover for the goodreads link)

I have to admit, I wasn’t to keen on this book. It wasn’t that it was badly written- it’s really well done and is amusing in some parts, I just viewed Mrs Hudson slightly differently than I had when I read the original books- and watched the television adaptations. I would still recommend it though, it has a pretty cover and is a good buy for a collector of Sherlock Holmes things.

5. Dust and Shadow by Lyndsay Faye (click on the cover for the goodreads link)

This book became my favourite read of last year. It is stupendous. Faye has Holmes and Watson down to a key, she writes in a Doyle-esque style and she puts together the Greatest Detective and the Greatest Serial Killer in one story. I would recommend this book to anyone- it’s brilliant.
The Jack the Ripper mystery always intrigued me, but to put Sherlock Holmes in the middle of it (both are Victorian so the time period fits) is the perfect pastiche. I rated this highly and I am glad I did. Fantastic.

6. Dr Jekyll and Mr Holmes by Loren. D. Estleman(click the cover for link to the goodreads page)
8086680

Like Dust and Shadow, the author has mashed two stories together to make a great Sherlock Holmes mystery! Sherlock Holmes and Robert Louis Stevenson’s Jekyll and Hyde. There’s a murder and the Queen calls Holmes to solve it- you can see where this is going but it’s a great read- there are better pastiche’s out there I’ll admit but this one I really enjoyed. It’s part of a whole series of further adventures, but I have yet to read any of the other ones.

7. Professor Moriarty: The Hound of the D’urbevilles by Kim Newman (click the cover for the goodreads page)
10635411

There’s Holmes and Watson…and then there’s Moriarty and Moran. This book is a retelling of some of the well known Sherlock Holmes novels, from the eyes of Sebastian Moran, Professor Moriarty’s right hand man. He takes on Watson’s biographer role and although this book is darker, it is also a lot funnier in some areas. A book from the view of the antagonist is a great read- you don’t feel sympathetic towards the villains but you start to like them.

8. The Moriarty Papers by Colonel Sebastian Moran. (click the cover for the goodreads page)
11329547

Again- a villain’s eye view into the world of Arthur Conan Doyle’s antagonist. This book however is supposed to be non-fiction filled with files and annotations and letters from Moriarty compiled by Moran. There’s even a map of London in the front. I own this book but I have yet to read it as I’ve got other things to read before then but I am very excited!

9. Sherlock: The Casebook by Guy Adams. (click the cover for the goodreads page)
13536554

The first book linked to the modern series to feature on this list. The Casebook is simply, John Watson’s blog in a book, but there’s some features about the series. What I like best about this book is that all the way through, Sherlock and John have arguments on John’s write up of the cases via post it notes- also, if you get the book in hardcover, on each flap there is a little bit written by the characters. Sherlock on the one on the inside cover, and John’s on the inside of the back cover. It’s amusing, and also a really quick read. It’s worth buying if you’re a fan of the show. It does only feature the cases up to the end of Series Two.

10. Sherlock: Chronicles by Steve Tribe (cover links to my review)

I’ve recently finished this book and it’s really informative. It gives you actors profiles, script-book comparisons, deleted scenes, and lots more behind the scenes gossip over the last three series. It’s heavy, but it’s a good quality hardbook and I would recommend it to any Sherlock fan.

Thanks for reading my Top Ten Tuesday!
I hope I’ve been able to share my love of Sherlock Holmes with the rest of you. 🙂
Thanks for reading
-Katie.

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Freebie! – Top Ten Sherlock Holmes related novels

Leave a Reply

