Book Review: Mary Boleyn, The Mistress of Kings (or ‘The Great and Infamous Whore’) by Alison Weir

Read between: 3rd January- 21st January
Pages: 364
Rating: 3/5

Review:
As an informative biography on the Boleyn sister only known for her affair with Henry VIII this book is great. However, as much as I enjoyed it, it was a very slow read and some of the words and phrases and conversions (such as money) that Weir used made me dislike her writing style. Weir knows what she is talking about and has clearly researched the woman she is bio-graphing but I was not keen on the writing style, and the varying chapter sizes. Some of them seemed to go on forever.

However many flaws this book may have, it’s a non-fiction book. I always find non-fiction slow but as the Tudor era is one of my favourite periods of history I was really looking forward to giving it a go and I’m glad I did as I learnt more than just the facts about Mary Boleyn, but also about her children, her husbands, and the falling out between herself and her sister, the infamous second wife of Henry VIII, Anne Boleyn.

If you like history and like the Tudors, I would say to pick this book up, but I am unsure how many would be as keen as I was. It took me a long time to read, especially some of the chapters, which focused on other members of the Boleyn family rather than Mary herself.

Having read Phillipa Gregory’s ‘The Other Boleyn Girl’ I was expected something along the lines of that, but based on fact, and not a work of fiction. In a way, it sort of was, but I probably won’t be re-reading Alison Weir’s book as I feel that it dragged on, and there were many times where I put it down before I finished a chapter because I was just….well bored.

3/5 stars because although it was factual, it wasn’t entertaining enough to merit a higher rating.
Sorry.

Leave a Reply

