Review: Bound by Prophecy (Descendants #1) by Melissa Wright

17793570

Read between: 14th-18th February
Rating: 2.5/5 stars

Review:
I flew through this book so it may seem surprising that I’ve given it such a low rating, but to be honest I had my reasons. It made me feel like this:
tumblr_m8re4n20xx1rtmikl

I really wasn’t keen on this book. I read it for booktuber Benjaminoftomes book club but it just didn’t make me feel anything. The story follows 22 year old Aern, a man who can’t watch his brother destroy their world any more. This could mean the book is a dystopian, but it could also be supernatural. I don’t know which!!!
The fact the protagonist was male had me all:
tumblr_inline_mzrq5k1mYk1qzjxmd

This was short lived and replaced by confusion. There are a lot of unanswered questions about the world of the story, before it takes place. What are his powers? What is ‘the sway’? Why was he hanging upside down in a jail at the start?
Why is Emily the chosen? It was never fully explained in her backstory, just sort of thrown in there for dramatic effect.

It had a slow start  and very little world building. I felt the focus was always on the characters, and they were not people I built a particular bond with either- they could be really annoying at some points.

I am glad this book was free on Kindle and I didn’t have to pay for it as it wouldn’t have been something I’d personally purchase for myself.

2.5/5 stars and I won’t be continuing with the rest of the books in the trilogy.

2 thoughts on “Review: Bound by Prophecy (Descendants #1) by Melissa Wright

Leave a Reply

