Book Review: The Twelfth Child by Bette Lee Crosby

13581586

Read Between: March 21- March 25th.
Number of pages: N/A
Synopsis: Trust, love and friendship — Abigail Anne Lannigan searched for these things all her life; now, when she is at the tail end of her years she teams up with a free-spirited young woman, a nobody from nowhere, who suddenly moves in across the street. It’s an unlikely friendship which comes under suspicion when a distant relative, claims embezzlement. One million dollars is missing and only Abigail knows the truth of what happened – but, she’ll never get the chance to tell. 

The Twelfth Child, a novel rich with emotion, humor and tenderness, explores the splintered relationships of a Shenandoah Valley family and their willful daughter’s struggle to survive America’s Great Depression and overcome the past.

Rating: four-star-rating-hi

Review:  I recieved this book for taking part in Dewey’s 24 hour readathon last October (2013) I think…I can’t remember, from the author. I’m a terrible person and left it a while before reading it. It was my TBR pick of the month!

I wasn’t sure what to expect, going into this book but I’m glad that I didn’t as it meant I wasn’t going to judge it on genre/content etc. It started off slow when it was based around the main character, Abigail’s childhood, with her horrible father and lovely mother,- who unfortunately, suffered her husband’s wrath just like his previous wives. Abigail is a headstrong girl, and I like that, as it meant we could really get an idea of her need for independence. There is definitely and element of feminist thinking in this book.

I liked the way it flicked back and fourth between periods of her life, so we really got to know Abigail and all about her life, her first kiss, the loss of her child, and her friendship with Destiny.

The only flaw I found was that after Abigail died, the story was still written in her first person narrative, as if she was looking down on others from heaven. I found it a little odd but it was a nice touch.

I enjoyed it. It was a very sweet story.

Thank you Bette Lee Crosby for giving me the opportunity to read and cherish your story.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Twelfth Child by Bette Lee Crosby

Leave a Reply

