Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten All Time Favorite Authors

e7db4-toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish, this weeks theme is your Top Ten All Time Favourite authors which is probably the most difficult to choose, so in no particular order, here are my Top Ten Favourite Authors. I thought I’d definitely do this one, as I am not as busy as I was in previous weeks.

1. J.K Rowling.
I have all seven Harry Potter books, the Beedle the Bard storybook to coincide with book seven and The Casual Vacancy. I feel that J.K Rowling is one of my favourite authors because she’s been with me since childhood.

2. Jacqueline Wilson
I don’t read her books as much now as I am far older than the target audience, but like J.K Rowling, Wilson’s books were my favourite during my childhood and preteens, and I still own all of the books by her that I own. I don’t have to heart to get rid of them just yet.

3. Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (quelle suprise)
The man responsible for creating my favourite literary hero- Sherlock Holmes. Conan Doyle was very good at what he did, and writing for his time, it was no surprise how popular his stories got and how so many of his readers though Holmes and Watson were real people.

4. Philippa Gregory
As a huge fan of historical fiction, I love Phillipa’s books and have complete collections of both of her series of books, the Tudor series and the Cousin’s War series. I have enjoyed all the books she had read so far and am waited for her new book, The King’s Curse to come out in paperback.

5. J.R.R Tolkien
I only ventured into Middle Earth last year, but since then, Tolkien has been on my list of favourite authors. Some people don’t like his descriptive writing but as someone who likes the imagery books provide, I love his writing style.

6. Markus Zusak
Okay, so I may have only read one book of his, but The Book Thief is one of my all time favourite novels, so I couldn’t not put Zusak on here!

7. Dan Brown
Probably an unpopular opinion but having read all of the Robert Langdon series by Dan Brown, and being a sucker for a mystery, I had to put him on the list. Although they aren’t exactly books you can re-read as you know the plotline, I still like them.

8. Roald Dahl.
Like Rowling and Wilson, Dahl’s stories were a quintessential part of my childhood, my favourites being Matilda and The BFG. He is a fantastic children’s author and I hope to pass on my love for him to my own children one day.

9. C.S Lewis.
I love the Narnia series a lot. It’s descriptive, but for children’s literature it’s really good quality adventure stories with characters you can relate to.

10. Stephenie Meyer
Don’t shoot me!
I love both The Host and The Twilight Series. I know it’s a bit cheesy but I actually love them.

So that’s my top ten favourite authors (THAT I COULD THINK OF ON THE SPOT.) There are so many more I wanted to add but there wasn’t enough room :C
Who are your favourites?
Be sure to leave yours in the comments so I can check them out πŸ™‚

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten All Time Favorite Authors

  1. JK Rowling and Conan Doyle are my favourite two authors as well. I think Rowling is the popular choice with a lot of people as it was probably the first book series to get them interested in reading.

    Also, I’ve never found a definitive answer to why Dan Brown is unpopular? I’ve always thought it was because at the start/end of books he states that everything in the book is based on fact, when in reality it is still debatable.

  2. Maggie says:

    Dan Brown & Roald Dahl made my list this week too! I couldn’t resist adding Brown either; his Langdon books are so fast paced and exciting! Happy reading! πŸ™‚

  3. JK Rowling and Roald Dahl made my list this week too. Jacqueline Wilson was one of my favourite authors in childhood and pre-teens but if I’d included every favourite childhood author then I would have had a very very long list! I love The Book Thief as well but I wasn’t sure if I could call Markus Zusak a favourite after only one book. I also only ever read The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe of the Narnia books-I did try reading The Voyage of The Dawn Treader but I didn’t really get into it. Great list!
    Here is my TTT:
    https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/category/top-ten-tuesdays/

Leave a Reply

