Book Review: Love Hurts by Malorie Blackman

cover55668-medium

Read between: 24th- 29th April
Rating: 
Format: Kindle edition/egalley

Review:
I originally requested this book from Netgalley because I thought it would be similar to ‘My True Love Gave to Me’ and be a collection of short stories. I wasn’t wrong, but it also has extracts of various YA authors to promote the theme of love- that is basically what the book itself is about. Saying that, a few of the extracts have made me want to expand my to be read list even more to continue the story and find out what happens to the characters.

My favourite story out of the whole book was Tumbling, by Susie Day. It was about a relationship between two tumblr users, formed over their love of BBC Sherlock. It’s also a LGBT story which is not something I’ve read much off. As a tumblr user myself (my blog is here if you’re interested: katiethecumberbabe.tumblr.com) I understood the terms, and knowing that the setting of the story was where they film Sherlock (which I went to for my eighteenth birthday) I found I put myself in the story- except I am a straight blonde girl and not like the character in the story at all.

However, as it didn’t live up to my expectation as a collection of short stories, that is why I have giving it a three star rating. I really enjoyed the book and I am glad that I read it. Malorie Blackman chose some of the best extracts. I also like that it touches on the LGBT community as well as the typical heterosexual love between two people.

I would definitely recommend it for a quick read if you haven’t read anything by the authors before- it gave me a view of their different writing styles, some I liked, some I didn’t, but the extracts demonstrated love in many different ways.

It’s a very clever way of creating a collection of works.

3/5 stars. Would recommend.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Love Hurts by Malorie Blackman

Leave a Reply

