Book Review: Torchwood-The Undertaker’s Gift by Trevor Baxendale.

Torchwood_undertakers_gift

Read between: 14th June-16th June 2015
Number of pages:244
Format: Hardcover
Genre: Science Fiction/TV Spinoff
Rating: five_star_rating

Syopsis: The Hokrala Corp lawyers are back, and they’re suing planet Earth for mishandling the twenty-first century! An assassin has been sent to remove Captain Jack Harkness! And, a record number of aliens have been coming through the Rift – it’s been a busy week in Cardiff. Now, there are reports of an extraordinary funeral cortege in the night time city, with mysterious pallbearers guarding a rotting cadaver that simply doesn’t want to be buried. Torchwood should be ready for anything, but with Jack the target of an invisible killer, Gwen trapped in a forgotten crypt, and Ianto Jones falling desperately ill, could a world of suffering by the Undertaker’s gift to planet Earth?

Review:I love Torchwood. As it’s been off air for a while now, and my TBR challenge this month was to read a book based on or turned into a TV show so I decided to pick this book up!

Of course, being Torchwood,there is some adult material so it’s not really for the younger readers, however, this doesn’t distract from the plot. Long story short-an alien race are sending an assassin after Captain Jack Harkness because they feel that he and Torchwood aren’t in control of what is happening in the 21st Century.

But if you know Jack, you know it is impossible to kill him.

What follows is dramatic, gruesome and apocalyptic.

The characters were written really well so it felt like I had only left the Torchwood universe for a second or because the mannerisms and the ways the characters spoke were so familiar to me. They were spot on.

Definitely a novelisation where you could actually see it happen as an episode considering there were different viewpoints beyond the Torchwood trip of Jack, Gwen and Ianto.

5/5 stars.
Would thoroughly recommend

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Torchwood-The Undertaker’s Gift by Trevor Baxendale.

  1. I’ve been pondering whether to watch the TV show for an incredibly long time now! Still unsure whether I should, but apocalyptic is right up my alley! And Captain Jack Harkness! I remember loving him in Doctor Who.
    xoxo

    • It is a spin off series so if you like Doctor Who you might like it :). As I said in my book review, it is far more adult than Doctor Who, there’s sex (literally s1ep2 is based on a sex alien). gore, etc etc, but it’s really good! It’s no longer on air unfortunately but it’s coming back as an audio series 🙂
      Here’s the trailer for Season 1 DVD trailer if you’re interested: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OjtizCmH0sc

      xx

      • I think I’ve watched that sex alien episode! I have no idea why I’ve seen that one though, weird.
        Oh that’s unfortunate! I see its currently on Netflix so I may binge watch it there xoxo

Leave a Reply

