Book Review: Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

image

Read between:19/6/2015-29/6/2015
Number of pages: 351
Format: Paperback
Rating: ★★★★★

Review: “It is universally acknowledged that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife”

From the first line to the romance, Pride and Prejudice is a classic I will read again and again. It is the only one of Austen’s novels that I have read but I definitely plan to read more in the near future.

The more I read it. The more I love it. Mr Bennett is a very loving father and I can’t imagine how hard it must be dealing with six women on a daily basis. However, the decisions he makes regarding the marriages of his daughters show just how much he cares for them.

Mrs Bennett on the other hand has her priorities settled and wants to see all her daughters married off to rich men, or men with decent fortunes so that she and her husband will be better off. :-\

Of course I cannot write a review for Pride and Prejudice without talking about Lizzie and Darcy. One of my favorite fictional couples of all time. The fact that two people can be so insufferable and indifferent to each other but end up completely happy is proof that sometimes people can be perfectly matched and not realise it.

The ending of the book, written in the author’s voice is also an element of the book that I enjoy because it tells us how the marriages of the Bennett sisters effected those important to them as well as telling of reactions to Elizabeth and Darcy’s relationship by characters who would not approve. (Lady Catherine for example)

I’d love to give Pride and Prejudice a billion stars but my rating scale doesn’t go that high so…..

5/5 stars.
Adored ❤

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

  1. Yes! Completely agree!! If you plan to read more, I recommend Emma (because it’s my favourite and Emma is the most fascinatingly exasperating characters of all time), Or you could try Persuasion (because it’s so beautiful, romantic and full of hope). Or any of them to be honest! I’m a massive Austen fan and am a tiny bit jealous that you get to enjoy all of these books for the first time! You’re going to have so much fun!

Leave a Reply

