Review: Me and Mr J by Rachel McIntyre

cover55369-medium

Format: e-galley
Number of pages: n/a
Read: 17th July
Rating: 

Review: Originally I though this book was going to be about a girl who crushes on her teacher and her thoughts about it- which it sort of was, so I requested it from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Honestly? As much as I enjoyed the story- it’s a little weird.

Written in diary form it was really easy to read and I flew through it. I enjoyed the character of Lara’s voice. She dropped the odd swear word here and there, and sounded very much like a 15 year old teenage girl with lots of teenage angst. However, a lot happened very quickly. The new supply teacher arrives and it goes from the everyday ‘school was like this today’ to ‘I think I love Mr Jagger’. There’s one big almighty crush going on here.

Her life isn’t going how she wants it, and Mr Jagger is a welcome distraction.Her father is unemployed, she’s horrendously bullied at school by her classmates, so when Mr Jagger starts giving her extra attention- she yearns for it.  Saying that, I didn’t expect there to actually be a physical teacher/student relationship-probably because it’s a taboo topic. This put me off.

It did managed to demonstrate just how vulnerable teenage girls can be and how dangerous infatuation can be when it comes to someone who is older (He wasn’t that much older, but old enough to be prosecuted.) In the end, Lara suffered because she was in love with her teacher. The good thing was that she was able to move on with her life, move away, and get a serious boyfriend who was more suitable for her. It was the least she deserved.

I’d recommend it to certain readers. I didn’t like it, but that’s just me. I enjoyed it, but the premise was a little……odd for a book aimed at girls the same age. 3/5 stars. I’m just pernickety.

Leave a Reply

