Book Review: One Day by David Nicholls

Read between: 17th July- 9th August
Format: Paperback
How did I get it? I picked it up at the free library when I was on holiday!
Number of pages: 435
Synopsis: “It’s 1988 and Dexter Mayhew and Emma Morley have only just met on the night of their graduation. Tomorrow they must go their separate ways. But after only one day together, they cannot stop thinking about one another.
Over twenty years, snapshots of that relationship are revealed on the same day—July 15th—of each year. Dex and Em face squabbles and fights, hopes and missed opportunities, laughter and tears. And as the true meaning of this one crucial day is revealed, they must come to grips with the nature of love and life itself.

Twenty years, two people, one day”
Rating:five_star_rating

Review: Emma and Dexter’s relationship is definitely one that develops over time. Over twenty years in fact. The reason I love One Day is that it’s a contemporary written by a male author, and also the fact that it shows just how much one specific day means to two people.

We meet them, both at 21, newly graduated, and follow their lives and relationships as they start careers, meet new people, grow apart, but finally reunite in their late thirties so finally start that long awaited romance. A proper one. I was happy they finally got together as it’s clear to the read, and to Emma and Dexter that they are perfect together.

Best friends, complete opposites, but perfectly suited- that’s the way to describe Dex and Em. I love their relationship, and knowing how much they still thought about each other even when they were in relationships with other people, that they are clearly meant to be together.

But just as their love story finally gets going, there’s a tragedy that seperates them forever.

I hoped after losing the woman he loved, Dexter wouldn’t go off the rails and spiral into depression and drinking but luckily he had friends and family around him so that eventually, he could get on his life and finally be happy again.

I really enjoyed this book- it’s contemporary, one of my favourite genres. I usually read contemporary written by female authors but David Nicholls is one of the best male contemporary authors out there! Recommend to all. 5/5 stars 😀

8 thoughts on “Book Review: One Day by David Nicholls

  1. It makes me so happy that you loved it. It is one of my absolute favorites. I reread it again this year and although it made me sad it also gave me comfort. “Whatever happens tomorrow… We’ve had today” It reminds me to cherish the day with my loved one and what is meant to be will be. I got caught up in worrying over the future until the book reminded me the present is what we should handle.

  2. Jeremy says:

    It makes me happy too! One of my favourite books of all-time!

    I really enjoyed how, in the end, Sylvie (That was her name right?) finally got a bit likeable and tolerant of Dexter.
    I’m not sure if happy is the right word, though. I don’t think he could ever be truly happy without Emma, but he’s coping.
    Took me quite a while to feel sympathy for Dexter. For a long time I wanted Emma to push him out of her life.

    Oh, the satisfaction of reading One Day. I want to reread it now.

    • My blog has just notified me to this comment now :/
      I totally agree! Sylvie was good to understand Dexter. I think that despite his love for Emma, she did love him.

      Oh so much.
      Dexter could be such a dick.

      I’ll read it again this year if I clear my TBR

Leave a Reply

