Book Review: The Lost World by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (*shock* not Sherlock Holmes!)

10155

Read between: 3rd-18th September
Format: ebook
Rating: four-star-rating-hi

Review:

Everyone knows my love of Sherlock Holmes and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. My blog title is enough to clarify that. The Lost World was downloaded for free on my kindle a while ago but as it was my TBR pick for this month and I couldn’t wait to get started! It is the first book in another series, the Professor Challenger series, and I can’t wait to read more.

The story follows Malone, and Irishman, a reporter, on his quest to ask Professor Challenger a question. What did he discover on his trip to South America that has caused so much controversy in the zoological world. This quest eventually takes him to the same route with the Professor, a colleague of his, and a famed hunter…to discover that Professor Challenger was right! There are real life living dinosaurs in the Amazon!

Some of the parts were a little far fetched, such as the conflict between ape-men and the native Indians, or when the ape-men kidnap the expedition group but other than that it was an enjoyable read and I thank Google for letting me google pictures of the dinosaurs so I had a clearer picture of them in my head as I read. (I also pictured Brian Blessed as Professor Challenger. You’ll understand if you read it)

I do love Conan Doyle’s way of writing in first person as I really feel a connection with the character.

It was a shame that Malone didn’t get to marry the girl of his dreams in the end, she was the very reason he decided to go on the expedition, so he could prove he was the man she wanted-but I doubt he’d dwell on that! He saw dinosaurs and other prehistoric creatures. Not everyday you can say that.

This was actually a really interesting read, and I enjoyed following Malone and his company as they went on their quest and I really enjoyed this book. I’d definitely recommend it to other Conan Doyle fans as well as those who have an interest in all things dinosaur!

4/5 stars.
Let me know if you read it, or if you might consider reading it in the future!

Leave a Reply

