Exploring my Bookshelves!

I’ve seen this a lot going around, especially the meme by Addlepates and Book Nerds, but I thought I’d just explain how my bookshelves are organised (it’s mainly random though) and show you the added extra that make the bookshelf mine.

First things first, an overview:
wpid-20150924_120309.jpg

The top three shelves of this bookcase, have books on, the middle has a CD Player and some uni books (and my TBR jar) the bottom two have DVDS. All of my shelves are double stacked, so if you want a bookshelf tour, shelf by shelf, I could be a while πŸ™‚

Let me know in the comments though!

Shelf One:
My Doctor Who shelf! (so the front right isn’t Β I’ll explain that)
wpid-20150924_123529.jpg

Basically, this entire shelf, behind the Harry Potter books, is just Doctor Who, or Doctor Who related books. There is a boxset of ten paperbacks and the rest are hardback. Some are signed by the authors, so these ones are the ones that I take the most care of πŸ™‚

There are also a couple of comic books and a graphic novel that wouldn’t fit anywhere else due to the height of them.
wpid-20150924_122635.jpg
Of course, I couldn’t complete the shelf without putting some Tenth Doctor figures in the corner. On the other side of the shelf, there is my Harry Potter books, the Cuckoo’s Calling and my Wreck This Journal’s. At the back are some contemporary’s I have still to read.

wpid-20150922_151624.jpg

Adding some (Disney) magic to the Harry Potter books is my line of Kinder Surprise Disney Princess!

Shelf Two:
A mix of genres, but mainly YA and Contemporary. There are other books behind the front row include a variety of books that are more mixed that the entirety of the shelf. (it’s hard to explain).
20150924_125355

The front of this shelf is preodminantly YA as you can see with the Hunger Games, Twilight and Divergent series clearly seen. The Baker Street sign was moved from a different shelf. It should be on the next shelf down (I forgot to put it back.)

wpid-20150924_120654.jpg

Thinking cleverly, I put a Tenth Doctor in a spacesuit figurine next to a dystopian series. Because the future in dystopia is never one you want to venture into unprotected!

Shelf Three:
20150924_125403

My Sherlock Holmes and hardback shelf.
This is where the Baker Street sign should be πŸ˜‰

On this shelf is the complete collection of Sherlock Holmes, various Sherlock Holmes pastiches, the Benedict Cumberbatch Transition duology and various hardbacks (also pride and prejudice because I couldn’t find room anywhere). Behind these is my historical fiction and my Kindle.

wpid-20150922_151637.jpgwpid-20150922_151629.jpg

The decoration on my bookshelf here is the Baker Street sign, another Tenth Doctor, and in the corner, an owl, because I love owls and he was too cute to put anywhere else!

Finally, the top of my bookshelves do not contain books, but various photo frames of me and my friends as I can always see them.
wpid-20150922_151657.jpg

So that’s my bookshelves in a nutshell!
Hope you enjoyed this post, I thought it was something different that was still able to show all of my shelves without taking every single book off.

Thanks for reading!
~ Katie x

Leave a Reply

