Book Review: Loki by Mike Vasich

Pages: 378
Format: ebook
Synopsis: God of Mischief. Father of Lies. Harbinger of Destruction. Exiled and tortured by the gods, Loki swears vengeance. He will summon the mighty Fenris Wolf and the legendary Midgard Serpent, and they will lead an army of giants and all the dead in Niflheim. Brimming with the power of the most destructive being in the Nine Worlds, he will not rest till Asgard is in ashes and all the gods are dead under his heel.

Published: 2nd February 2011
Publisher: Createspace
Read between: 19th November-9th December
Rating: 

Review:

This book was a good insight into the world of Norse mythology, even though it was a work of fiction, a re-telling perhaps, rather than factual. I admit that, although it did broaden my understanding, all I know about Thor and Loki is from the Marvel movies so I could only picture them like this: 

The book was not what I expected.

Loki is the title character and the story focuses on his banishing from Asgard to Jotunheim and the chaos that ensues as he seeks revenge. I liked the fact that we got to know Loki’s powers better when he changed forms (a horse, a falcon) throughout as it kept the story interesting to try and work out what side he was on and what he would do next.

It was also nice to get to know more about Loki’s background, such as his wife Sigyn (who he treated pretty badly) and his children; Sleipnir, the eight legged horse ridden by Odin, Fenrir, a wolf, Jormagund, known as The Midgard snake, and Hel, a half dead woman who rules Nifelheim, the land of the dead. Although they all sound very different, they all have the same role to play in the destruction of the Nine Worlds.

However it was clear to me that due to Ragarnok, everyone would die. I knew it was coming so I wasn’t completely shocked when I read about each of their deaths- the only one I was shocked about was Loki’s considering how gory the writer made it out to be.

I’d recommend it if you’re a fan of Norse mythology but as a fan of the Thor movies it wasn’t the best book to read- I’d have to understand Norse mythology a lot better to enjoy it more. It was well written and I managed to finish it despite the slow start, and it got slow around the end too.

3/5 stars.

Maybe 2.5 if I’m being really picky. I enjoyed it but its not a book I’ll be in a hurry to re-read.

Thanks for reading!
~Katie

cropped-dm-bookbanner.jpg

Leave a Reply

