Childhood Book Tag

I was tagged to do this post by theorangutanlibrarian three days ago, but it’s been busy last few days considering it’s almost Christmas so I thought I’d do it now before I forget!

The tag was originally created by: https://rivermoosebooks.wordpress.com/2015/11/25/the-childhood-book-tag-original/

So here goes!

1. First book you remember reading on your own?

I’ve seen a lot of people say Harry Potter to this tag- but actually, my answer is a little different:

The Story of Tracy Beaker by Jacqueline Wilson- she was definitely one of my auto-buy authors when I was younger and I can remember sitting down and reading Tracy Beaker on my own (I’m sure there were others but this is the one I remember most. )

2. First book you remember having your parents read to you?

I could have so many answers for this one, so many, so I’ve picked two that I know I definitely had read to me- and still own because they’re my favourite children’s books.

   The Adventures of Mog by Judith Kerr

 Various stories in the Beatrix Potter collection.

I can especially remember the story of Peter Rabbit- and I would love to pass them on to my own children one day.

3. Book you read because of your parents? Because of a friend?

This isn’t really an answer from my childhood, but the Lucifer Box series by Mark Gatiss- my friend convinced me to read them, and I glad they did because they’re brilliant and hilarious.

4. Favourite book from school?

Well, there were a few I definitely disliked…..but if I had to choose one it would be An Inspector Calls because that play was really fascinating to study.

I read tonnes by the time I was in Secondary School so this question was difficult to figure out the context.

5. Favourite Book in Elementary?

Or Primary school as we call it here in the UK. Um, again, a mix of books, I’ve always been an avid reader so setting one down in stone is hard….
I didn’t really have favourites then, I just had books I enjoyed, like these great reads:

Primary school was a long time ago, so this answer is basically the first books i can remember reading in primary school!

6. In Middle school?

Again, various books, like the Animal Ark book series, and Roald Dahl, but I think the series of books I was most into was the Georgia Nicholson series by Louise Rennison.

these were so great when I was an eleven year old.

7. In High school?

I answered a question for secondary school above- as I assumed that was what it meant, so….hmm.  It’s hard to pin one down.
If I had to pick something I read for pleasure rather than as part of school then….probably Twilight. I don’t know. I’m struggling for answers :/

8. Book you gave up on as a kid that you’d like to revisit?

Um…..well I’ve actually already done this.
It was Anne of Green Gables by L.M Montgomery….and I had to force myself through it as an adult. Still don’t like it.

9. Book you checked out of the library the most as a kid?

I….didn’t actually use the library, other than the school library, as a kid so…I can’t actually answer this question.

10. Book you made all your friends read?

Thinking about it, a lot of the time I read books that everyone else was reading, I was part of the hype, so I’d probably have recommended something they’d already read!

11. The book that made you love reading?

Enough said.

12. Favourite middle grade read?

Ooh….tough one. I liked a LOT of books- however, going back to my first answer, I’m not going with The Story of Tracy Beaker, but ANYTHING by Jacqueline Wilson. A N Y T H I N G

13. Favourite young adult read.

you can’t make me choose

14. First long series you read as a kid?

It’s a tie between Harry Potter and the Chronicles of Narnia.

15. How did you learn to read?

School? *shrugs* Maybe I was just born this way 😉

16. How obsessed were you with the scholastic book fairs as a kid?

SO OBSESSED.
My day was made if the book fair came to school. I was so excited.

 

I’m not tagging anyone because I’m a lazy so-and-so but if you want to do this tag- say that I tagged you!

Thanks for reading!
~Katie.

cropped-dm-bookbanner.jpg

Leave a Reply

