The Popsugar 2016 Reading Challenge

image

Last year I failed miserably at this challenge so this year, to make it easier for myself, I’ve made a TBR matching books to the categories in the hope this will ease completion.

Not all of the books are on my TBR but most of them are- so I’m cutting my to-be-read pile down at the same time!

They are as follows:

A YA Bestseller: The Book Thief
A book you haven’t read since high school: Guitar Girl
A book set in your home state: Persuasion  (I’m from the UK so I went for my home county instead.)
A book translated into English: Les Miserable
A romance set in the future: These Broken Stars
A book set in Europe: The Silkworm
A New York Times bestseller: Looking for Alaska
A book that’s becoming a movie this year: The BFG
A book at least 100 years older than you: The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes
A book that’s more than 600 pages: The Three Musketeers
A book from Oprah’s book club: Anna Karenina
A science fiction novel: Timebomb
A book that takes place  during Summer: The Summer of Secrets
A murder mystery: Broadchurch
A book written by a comedian: It Just Me?
A book with a blue cover: The Memory of Midnight
A classic from the 20th Century: Rebecca
A book about a road trip: Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour
A book about a culture you’re not familiar with: Being Someone (Currently reading)
A satirical book: The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy
A book that takes place on an island: Treasure Island

I’ve researched some of the categories and obviously I’ve not managed to fill some of the other categories so I would appreciate it if anyone had any suggestions!

Thanks for reading!
If you’re also doing the challenge, let me know!
~ Katie

image

8 thoughts on “The Popsugar 2016 Reading Challenge

  1. tumbling into wonderland says:

    This looks like a fab idea!
    A book based on a fairy tale -I’ve just read The Golden Braid which was quite good – based on Rapunzel. I also enjoyed UnEnchanted by Chanda Hahn, which is a YA based on all the Grimm fairy tales.
    If you want to include just meeting me, The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss is a MUST read, and I love Theft of Swords by Michael J Sullivan.
    Book of Poetry – did you ever study Carol Ann Duffy or Simon Armatage for GCSE? They were both really fun and interesting poems. I imagine that their collection would be interesting reads.
    Good Luck!

    • Thanks for the recommendations! 😀
      I’ve put myself on a book buying ban until I’ve cleared most of my TBR but I’ll definitely look up some of these titles on amazon and check them out!
      Haha I might include that 😉

      Carol Ann Duffy was really weird. She creeped me out so maybe not xD However, Simon Armitage sounds like a good idea!
      Thank you! Xx

  2. Great idea!! if I didn’t already have too many challenges going on I might have joined you, some great topics there. Good luck and I look forward to seeing your reviews of these books 🙂

Leave a Reply

