January Wrap- Up

Well….this is late… but my Dad’s birthday is the 31st of January so it’s only today that I’ve found time to upload this! Anyway, I had a bad start to the year reading wise, I read four books in January.

They are as follows:

  1. Being Someone by Adrian Harvey. 4/5 stars
    This book followed James as he fell in love, lost love, and travels between London, New York and India. I liked the difference in cultures, and reading a book from a male point of view is something I don’t read much of- so it was not only different, I actually rather enjoyed it! Full review is here if you’re interested: https://sherlockianbooklover.wordpress.com/2016/01/11/review-being-someone-by-adrian-harvey/
  2. The Key of Creation by A.R Voss and M.D Bushnell 3/5 stars
    This high fantasy novel took me a while to get through, which is probably why I didn’t get to read as many books as I wanted to this month. However, I did enjoy it- it had everything you need from a fantasy novel: quests, dragons, magic, rivalry between kingdoms. The main character has a lot on his shoulders and suffers some terrible losses but became stronger by the end. Full review here: https://sherlockianbooklover.wordpress.com/2016/01/20/booktrilogy-review-the-key-of-creation-by-a-r-voss-and-m-d-bushnell/
  3. The Magician’s Nephew by C.S Lewis 4/5 stars
    This is technically the first book in the Chronicles of Narnia series- but in my eyes, I see it more of a prequel. The events of the book create the existence of Narnia in the first place, a scene which was beautiful to read. My full review explains the plot line and the characters in more detail- as this is a wrap-up, I want to save the detail and not make the post too long! The review can be found here: https://sherlockianbooklover.wordpress.com/2016/01/26/book-review-the-magicians-nephew-by-c-s-lewis/
  4.  The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe by C.S Lewis. 5/5 stars
    This is the book in the Chronicles of Narnia that everybody has heard of- maybe not read, but heard of. It’s my utmost favourite and all the characters stay with you even after you finish the book. Lucy, Edmund, Peter and Susan are followed into the other books in the series and to meet them here- it becomes clear why they become so important. From Aslan’s courage, to the White Witch’s cruelty, there is something about the land of Narnia that stays with readers forever. I recommend you read it because the entire series is a brilliant piece of middle grade high fantasy. Review here: https://sherlockianbooklover.wordpress.com/2016/01/30/book-review-the-lionthe-witch-and-the-wardrobe-by-c-s-lewis/

And that’s all I read this month! I also completed two of the challenges in the Popsugar Reading Challenge:
– A book and it’s prequel
-A book about a culture you are unfamiliar with.

How many books did you read in January?
Thanks for reading!
~Katie

cropped-dm-bookbanner.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

