Book Review: Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

 

Read between: 19th-28th February 2016
How did I get it?: In my Illumicrate!
Format: Hardcover
2016 Reading Challenge: A book pulished in 2016 & A book with a blue cover
Number of pages: 416
Published: 5th January 2016
Publisher: Tor Teen
Synopsis: In a continent on the edge of war, two witches hold its fate in their hands.

Young witches Safiya and Iseult have a habit of finding trouble. After clashing with a powerful Guildmaster and his ruthless Bloodwitch bodyguard, the friends are forced to flee their home.

Safi must avoid capture at all costs as she’s a rare Truthwitch, able to discern truth from lies. Many would kill for her magic, so Safi must keep it hidden – lest she be used in the struggle between empires. And Iseult’s true powers are hidden even from herself.

In a chance encounter at Court, Safi meets Prince Merik and makes him a reluctant ally. However, his help may not slow down the Bloodwitch now hot on the girls’ heels. All Safi and Iseult want is their freedom, but danger lies ahead. With war coming, treaties breaking and a magical contagion sweeping the land, the friends will have to fight emperors and mercenaries alike. For some will stop at nothing to get their hands on a Truthwitch.

Rating:

Review: I got this copy of Truthwitch in my February Illumicrate, I’d heard a few things about it on Booktube so I looked at the Goodreads reviews and saw a mix of both good and bad so of course I was a little skeptical, especially as it started off really slow.

This book has many themes- but the main one, the one that features heavily, is friendship, mostly between Safiya a Trutchwitch, and Iseult, a Threadwitch, who are bound together in a bond as Threadsisters. Each person has invisible threads that link them to another person, at least that what’s I got from that, and Safi is linked to Iseult ever since the girl saved her life at the age of twelve. At first the magic elements confused me, but as the book continued, I slowly began to understand and get my head around it. However, the world still remains a mystery, I have no idea how big it is (although there is a map) and where the distance between the kingdoms. I may have to re-read it to try and work it out.

It is the girls’ friendship that I liked the most, despite some sometimes stupid decisions, and they times they had to be separated, Safi and Iseult stay together through thick or thin. Their friendship got me through the book, as some parts felt a little unnecessary (such as random characters, such as Prince Leopold) appearing in chapters after a short introduction, but mostly I enjoyed it more that I thought I would.

Thankfully, the background characters of Prince Merick and Aeuden, the Bloodwitch, did not remove any of the power from the story, even when Merick and Safi gave into frustration and shared a much awaited kiss. Despite this, there was not a romance really…a hint, but not enough to ruin the bond between the Threadsisters.

I really glad I liked this book as its signed (on a bookplate) and I’m considering re-reading it. It wouldn’t be something I usually go for- I like fantasy novels but not books about witchcraft, however, this type of witchcraft as different from the norm. I definitely didn’t know what to expect. Two female characters, working alongside each other as a unit is the main reason that I kept reading, in the end, it wasn’t a man who protected Safi, but her best friend. I just hope they are re-united in the next book. (If there is one!)

I’d recommend it!
It was pleasantly surprising.
3/5 stars.

One thought on “Book Review: Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

Leave a Reply

