Top Ten Tuesday! Ten Books I Really Love But Feel Like I Haven’t Talked About Enough/In A While

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This weeks topic is:  Ten Books I Really Love But Feel Like I Haven’t Talked About Enough/In A While (inspired by freebie topic).

  1. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak– I feel that this book doesn’t get enough credit. It’s superbly written and the narration by Death (yes, that one) is so different but it works tremendously well- you know that characters are going to die from the start but it doesn’t make it any less heartfelt. I definitely want to re-read it soon.
  2. Inkheart by Cornelia Funke– Probably one of my favourite fantasy trilogies is the Inkheart trilogy, and it’s not just because the main character is a total bookworm! The fact that reading aloud can bring characters to life is such a good premise for a book, I’d definitely recommend it if you haven’t read it. It’s very clever.
  3. Dust and Shadow by Lyndsay Faye– This book was my favourite read of 2014, and although I haven’t read it since I love to rave about this book even though I haven’t mentioned it accept in these sorts of tags. It’s Sherlock Holmes vs Jack the Ripper- need I say more?
  4. Stuart: A Life Backwards by Alexander Masters– This one is a little out of place in a list like this, it’s the biography of a homeless man named Stuart, in his own words, written the way he wants it- not in order. It’s heartfelt, and it’s gripping and, most of all, it’s sad- it shows people just how tough being homeless is. The film adaptation of it is also fantastic and it is on be to-re-read list for sure.
  5. The BFG by Roald Dahl– Don’t get my wrong I could include all of Roald Dahl’s books here but the BFG has always been a favourite since I was little, with Snozzcumbers, Whizzpopping, and an unlikely friendship I will always adore this story.

PicMonkey Collage

PicMonkey Collage

6. Flanimals by Ricky Gervais– A book about made up creatures with silly names such  as the Glonk and the Puddolflaj, based like a nature encyclopedia. It’s stupid, but it makes me laugh and I have all four books in the series.
7. The Time Traveller’s Wife by Audrey Niffeneger– It’s such a heartbreaking story! But I love it, I like that it challenges the conventional form of time travel into something that can be humiliating and dangerous. Claire and Henry’s romance really shows that love conquers anything.
8. Angus, Thongs and Full Frontal Snogging by Louise Rennison– Louise unfortunately passed away this month, but this book, THIS BOOK, got me through all sorts of problems. Georgia Nicholson is like the teenage Bridget Jones and when you’re a young girl going through puberty and starting to like boys…her diary entries were like a sacred path into womanhood. Thank you Louise, and thank you Lousie for being tres tres fabulous (You won’t get that if you don’t read this series. PURE GOLD)
9. Billy and Me by Giovanna Fletcher- Such a cute story! I really should rave about it more because Giovanna’s debut novel is the best out of the three she’s now published in my opinion. It’s so cute, and the main character is so relatable that I’ll read it again and again without fail.

And finally…..
10. Atonement by Ian McEwan– I know a lot of people love this book (or have seen the film with Keira Knightley and James McAvoy, that’s okay too) but it really needs more credit. True it can be a little confusing but the moral of the story is that lies can hurt, even little white lies, and I think everyone should think about that. I haven’t read any other of McEwan’s novels because I’m terrified they won’t live up to Atonement.

There’s quite a range of different genres and books in this list and I’m glad about that 🙂

Thanks for reading!
~Katie
cropped-dm-bookbanner.jpg

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday! Ten Books I Really Love But Feel Like I Haven’t Talked About Enough/In A While

  1. I’ve read four off your list and absolutely agree with them! The Book Thief, BFG, The Time Traveller’s Wife and Atonement – great books and fond memories of reading.
    Lynn 😀

Leave a Reply

