Book Review: The Silkworm by Robert Galbraith

image

Number of pages: 580
Read between: 29th- 12th June
Publisher: Sphere
Published: 2014
Format: Paperback
Rating:

Review: Robert Galbraith (Or J.K. Rowling) has done it again. The Silkworm was just as gripping as the first novel, ‘The Cukoo’s Calling’. It was a little bit more gory, much more personal and what I would call the epitome of crime fiction (but that could be slightly bias 😉 )

The plot follows the disappearance of author Owen Quine- so his wife contacts Strike to hire him to find her husband. He takes the case but it becomes something much more serious when whilst looking for leads, he finds a body. Owen Quine has been murdered in a horrific and grisly way. A way, that also happens, to be the death of the protagonist in his new novel. Could it be an omen? A sign? Whatever it is, Strike thinks it could be something that will lead him straight to the killer. After all, a lot of people are angry about the satirical way they’ve been portrayed. A motive?

I really liked Robin and Cormoran’s relationship in this book- she develops as a character and is no longer just his PA, despite her fiance’s animosity. Robin goes through the issue of trying to hide what she’s doing from Matthew- which doesn’t really work in her favour. So on top of the case, there’s also drama as well! I was really worried they’d break up and Cormoran, who obviously finds her attractive, would jeapordise their relationship by doing something stupid.

But they didn’t so all good!

However, another element I liked was the inclusion of a character with special needs, Quine’s daughter, who sounds much younger as you read before the truth is revealed. It really makes the author’s desk even more shocking because Orlando doesn’t understand. How is she going to cope without her father around?

I had two theories about the killer, and I changed my mind between one and the other about half way through- my original theory was the one that was correct. Well half of it anyway, but I nearly worked it out.

It’s very well written- I didn’t want to put it down, even though life meant I had to sometimes, I was hooked from the very beginning! I’m really getting into this series now. I’d recommend it to both crime fans and J.K. Rowling fans because you won’t be disappointed if you pick it up. It’s a fantastic piece of crime fiction.

5/5 stars. I’d give it more if I could!

Thanks for reading!
~Katie

cropped-dm-bookbanner.jpg

One thought on “Book Review: The Silkworm by Robert Galbraith

Leave a Reply

