Series Review/Holiday Wrap Up: The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams

So, I did plan on reading loads whilst I was on holiday for a week, but I actually didn’t read as much as I wanted to. However, I did manage to finish an entire five book series over the seven days that I was away.

The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy series by Douglas Adams. As a sci-fi fan I can’t believe I haven’t read them sooner. Rather than review them all individually, I thought I’d rate them and make a few comments about what I thought of each book.

So, Book 1:
The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy . I gave this four thumbs up (not stars, cause, hitchhiking 😉 )

Character wise: Arthur Dent is a great character, his emotions and anger and panic are what make him the perfect protagonist and so typically human. Especially with Ford Prefect around. I found book Zapod more arrogant than film Zaphod but I enjoyed the book nonetheless.

Favourite moment: The interaction between Arthur and Slartibartfast, and the moment the Vogon read poetry.

Book 2:
The Restaurant at the End of the Universe. I gave this three thumbs up.

This book confused me a lot as there was a lot going on- one thing happened, then another, and I couldn’t cohesively follow it. I don’t know if that’s just me. Maybe it’s because all of the characters are split up, I dunno.

Favourite moment: The whole purpose of the ship Ford and Arthur end up on, and the moment where Zaphod’s ego actually works in his favour. Who knew?

Book 3:
Life, The Universe, and Everything. Four thumbs up! I actually enjoyed this one much more than the second. The characters are reunited which is easier to follow and there’s a robot/alien war going on which, for some reason, involves the Ashes trophy! Lots going on, but it was much more exciting!

Favourite moment: The return of Slartibartfast and his spaceship powered by bistromatics so that it looks and acts like an Italian restuarant! I thought this idea was so genius! Douglas Adam’s is very clever in creating a new sort of space travel.

Book 4:
So Long, and Thanks For All the Fish. Four thumbs up.

Hang on…the Earth wasn’t destroyed? The dolphins set up an alternate Earth? What is going on? This one was brilliant! Even the romance didn’t seem out of place, and it was nice to move away from the space stuff for a bit.

Favourite moment:  Arthur and Ford appearing on Lord’s cricket ground on a Chesterfield sofa.

Book 5:
Mostly Harmless. Three thumbs up.

Trillian is seen as both Trillian and Tricia, Arthur’s girlfriend has disappeared, Arthur is making sandwiches and Ford has made a robot friend called Colin. There isn’t a super amount of Zaphod in this book so the foursome is cut down to trio, not that they’re all together though. There’s also another member of the Dent family, Trillian and Arthur’s daughter Random, who is introduced.

She could be annoying at times, but I understood why.

Favourite moment: The Stavromula Beta revelation- I didn’t see it coming and it was so subtle it was genius!

 

So that’s my mini reviews/series review. This series was fun and I can see why they’re branded as satirical- but the humour isn’t too….dry. There’s the right mix of drama and amusement, space travel, and British stereotypes.

I’m so glad I got around to reading them.

I want to rewatch the film again now!

Thanks for reading!
Let me know if you’ve read HHGTG and what your thoughts on it were.

~Katie
cropped-dm-bookbanner.jpg

Leave a Reply

