Book Review: Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

This might be my favourite read of the year so far.

42a32-1429820340604

Read between: 1st-9th August
Number of pages: 520
Format: Hardcover
Publisher: Macmillan
Published: October 8th 2015

Synopsis: Simon Snow just wants to relax and savor his last year at the Watford School of Magicks, but no one will let him. His girlfriend broke up with him, his best friend is a pest, and his mentor keeps trying to hide him away in the mountains where maybe he’ll be safe. Simon can’t even enjoy the fact that his roommate and longtime nemesis is missing, because he can’t stop worrying about the evil git. Plus there are ghosts. And vampires. And actual evil things trying to shut Simon down. When you’re the most powerful magician the world has ever known, you never get to relax and savor anything.

Carry On is a ghost story, a love story, a mystery and a melodrama. It has just as much kissing and talking as you’d expect from a Rainbow Rowell story — but far, far more monsters.


Rating:
Review: Having read Fangirl, I was excited to read Carry On- a spin off of the fanfiction that Cath writes in in ‘Fangirl’ called Carry on, Simon based on Gemma T. Leslie’s Simon Snow stories. However, Carry On is not Cath’s story, its Rainbow’s. She brings life to Simon, Baz and their friends in her own unique way and I love it.

Of course, I expected it to be a Harry Potter rip off, but apart from a wizarding school, a chosen one, and a force of evil…that’s pretty much where the similarities end (not everyone uses a wand at Watford.) The Mage, for starters, is nothing like Dumbledore. It did make me laugh, when Agatha, Simon’s sort of girlfriend, voice what I was thinking- you can’t trust a man who dresses like Peter Pan!

It made the reveal of who he really was all that more surprising.

Out of the main group of characters, unfortunately, it was Agatha I didn’t connect too. She irritated me a little bit. However, the fact that she, and other characters, not just Simon and Baz, get their own voice due to the multiple perspectives in the book, meant that each of them is an individual with their own personality.

The cover suggests the inevitable romance between Simon and Baz, and it does happen, it just takes a while to get ther (61 Chapters) which means that the surrounding story becomes more important, keeping you hooked, even if you want to just shout “KISS ALREADY”, although the story means that you’re not distracted.

This book has just enough magic and drama that teenage magicians need…and the odd change in appearance (read it to see) that confused the hell out of me!
It’s hard not to spoil anything but I was glad, that by the end, Simon got his happy ending and the evil is defeated.

I love Baz. I love Simon. I LOVE THIS BOOK.

10/10 would recommend.
Rainbow is definitely one of my favourite authors now!

5/5 stars.
Urgh I can’t stop gushing about it.
Brilliant book!

Thanks for reading!
~Katie
cropped-dm-bookbanner.jpg

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

  1. I’m glad you loved this, I really did too! I did get a lot more Harry Potter vibes than you, but I was expecting them, so it didn’t ruin it too much for me. Nice review 🙂

Leave a Reply

