Book Review: Doctor Who-The Clockwise Man by Justin Richards

Number of pages: 256
Read between: 11th-18th August 2016
Published: May 19, 2005.
Publisher: BBC Books
Synopsis: In 1920s London the Doctor and Rose find themselves caught up in the hunt for a mysterious murderer. But not everything is what it seems. Secrets lie behind locked doors and inhuman killers roam the streets.
Who is the Painted Lady and why is she so interested in the Doctor? How can a cat return from the dead? Can anyone be trusted to tell- or even know the truth?
With the faceless killers closing in, the Doctor and Rose must solve the mystery of the Clockwise Man before London itself is destroyed….

Rating:

Review:

I really like the way that Justin Richards characterises The Doctor and Rose. I’ve read his Tenth Doctor novels so I knew I’d like this one- and the Ninth Doctor needs more love, so I’m glad there are novels to help expand his adventures beyond the series.

This novel finds The Doctor and Rose in 1920s London- where they encounter people controlled by clockwork, a cat that seemingly came back from the dead and end up caught in the middle of a hunt for a murderer. Basically, a typical day for them!

I admit I’m a bit out of sync with Nine so I found I couldn’t get his voice straight away but the more I read the more he sounded like him- not that that matters. It’s a very good story despite the slow start.

As with most of the novels, they’re laid out like an epsiode with different settings and viewpoints amongst the chapters to add variety and to make sure you, as a reader, get really immersed and involved with the story.

There’s even a litttle bit of history! If you know of the Russian royal family, the Romanov’s, then this book has a surprising connection- when one of the characters turns out to be the heir of the Tsar it makes things much more dangerous.

The two characters I liked were Freddie and Repple were my favourite of the background characters, a lot of the other characters seemed pushy or just….there. The Painted Lady, Melissa Heart for example, even  if she ended up on the good side, I didn’t like. She just seemed very….vengeful.

What did amuse me is how clockwork people feature in this book, well before the feature in the TV episode, The Girl in the Fireplace. They’re much cleverer in this though, they’re not just lowly repair droids searching for parts.

I’m giving this book 4/5 stars because in some places I got lost. How did Melissa take the TARDIS for example? We never found out!

I enjoyed this book. Both The Doctor and Rose were perfectly in character. It was nice delving into their adventures again.

Thanks for reading!
~Katie

cropped-dm-bookbanner.jpg

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Doctor Who-The Clockwise Man by Justin Richards

Leave a Reply

