Book Review: Talented by Sophie Davis

wp-image-2016490981jpg.jpeg

Read between: 2oth August- 6th September
Number of pages: 386
Format: ebook
Published: January 11, 2012
Publisher: Dabber & Baehr
Synopsis: Block it out. Impossible for Talia Lyons. When you’re a Mind Manipulator, it’s hard enough to block the thoughts of others, let alone your own.

Block it out. The pounding, siren-ready world Talia inhabits as she trains with her fellow Hunters, the country’s top-secret covert operatives. The physical demands. The emotional toll.

Block it out. The secrets that Talia’s boyfriend is hiding. Talia’s unbidden feelings of frustration and annoyance toward her teammate, the Casanova of the compound. The wondering why she cares what he thinks.

Block him out. Ian Crane. The man behind the bloodshed marring Talia’s memories of her murdered parents. The man she’s determined to kill.

Block it all out. Focus.

Talented is an emotionally raw Dystopian Romance, about the life of a girl with extraordinary psychic powers, and what happens when a heart is torn between love and rage.

Rating:  003d1-threestar

Review: I’ve had this book on my kindle for a while, it was free and I never got around to reading it. When I started this book I didn’t know what to expect- although my first impression of the main character, Talia, was that she’d probably get on my nerves.

I do like the concept though- I’m a fan of sci fi and this has hints of that, although it falls into the genre of dystopia. In a dystopian world, some humans exhibit extraordinary abilities, known as Talents. Mind control, mimicry, metamorphosis, and even heightened intelligence- with the only noticeable side effect being odd coloured eyes. Talia’s are purple.

Talia was a little irritating at times, but her character developed and eventually she grew on me and I ended up feeling her emotions as I read. She became stronger and more likeable- even when she ends up throwing a mental tantrum after discovering her boyfriend’s affair and destroying his home.

To be honest he deserved it.

Talia, now she has left the school for the Talented, is training to be a Hunter, a career worthy of her talent, which involves lots of training, both body, mind, and weapon. Training she actually works hard on and stays focused on. I commend her, I’d moan! I hate physical exercise!

Although, a little crush on one of her team members gets in the way, and develops a little too quickly after she ends it with Donovan. I felt it was a little too soon.

It’s hard to go into more detail but the Hunts were probably the most exciting part of the book. There was the risk of danger around every corner, and Talia doesn’t find out how risky a Hunt can be until she gets her own solo mission.

It starts off slow, picks up a little bit quicker, but it speeds up towards the end and ends on a cliffhanger leading to the second book in the series. I’ve only given this book 3/5 stars because although I enjoyed it, there were parts that bored or I just felt I’d seen before in this type of story.

Don’t let my review put you off, give this book a chance if it’s something you think you’d like because you actually might enjoy it. It wasn’t really for me and I unfortunately won’t continue with the series.

3/5 stars.

Thanks for reading!
~Katie

DM-BookBanner

One thought on “Book Review: Talented by Sophie Davis

Leave a Reply

