The Autumn Reading Tag

I’ve seen this floating around Booktube and thought, as I’m going to do a full book series review next that I need to fill up my blog with something so it doesn’t look like I’ve been idle. We’re three weeks into October now so as it’s now fully fledged into Autumn- here’s the Autumn Reading Tag!

The Tag was created by Amy @ https://youtu.be/ObARs7jQGuQ. Go and check out her original tag video

To the questions:
1. Are there any books you plan on reading over the Autumn season?

When I think of Autumn I think of Halloween and cold weather and the leaves falling off the trees, and I’ve selected some books I think are perfect for the season.
The first lot are books 1-9 in the Skulduggery Pleasant series by Derek Landy. They’re not exactly spooky or scary but the main character is a living skeleton so…..

I also, if I get around to it before Christmas rolls around, want to read Dracula by Bram Stoker because gothic fiction is perfect for this time of year.

2. September brings back to school memories: what book did you most enjoy studying? And what were your favourite and least favourite school subjects? 
I KNOW ITS OCTOBER SHHH
Anyway, I hated pretty much all the books I studied at school because we really had to analyse them but I’ll say Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck because its the one I can remember most vividly.
As for subjects? My favourite subject was History and my least favourite was Maths.
3. October means Halloween: do you enjoy scary books and films? If so what are some of your favourites?
I don’t read much horror. Never have as it always spooks me. I scare way easily- we had to do a horror topic in school once. I never finished the book.
Films wise, I don’t really /watch/ horror either, but I do own two films that I try and watch every Halloween.
Image result for the nightmare before christmasImage result for fright night
The Nightmare Before Christmas- I know it’s technically a Christmas film but the first half is set in Halloween town which makes it perfect to watch this time of year!
Fright Night (the remake) starring Anton Yelchin (RIP :C), Colin Farrell and David Tennant- a very good jump scare proper vampire movie. It’s a comedy horror and I really only sat through it for David Tennant in leather trousers and guy liner. 😉
4. With November it’s time for bonfire night & firework displays. What’s the most exciting book you’ve read that really kept you gripped?
This is hard because there are a lot of books that kept me gripped to page, but to narrow it down I’ll have to say The Silkworm by Robert Galbraith, because I’m a sucker for a murder mystery.
5. What book is your favorite cosy comfort read?
Like most people, I’d say Harry Potter but I also find that anything with a romance in makes me fell all warm and cosy inside and I have a lot of contemporary’s on my TBR so maybe I’ll be reading those at Christmas!
6. Curled up with a good book, what is your hot drink of choice?
Tea.
Any plans you’re looking forward to over the next few months?
At the end of this month I’m going to be attending MCM London Comic Con for the second year in a row and debuting a new cosplay so I’m looking forward to that! Nov and Dec will probably not be as exciting because I’ll probably be poor :c

I tag- YOU. If you’re reading this 😀

Thanks for reading!
~Katie
cropped-dm-bookbanner.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

