November Book Haul!

20161130_153050

Felt I had enough books to merit a book haul!

I bought four of these books, and I received one from a publisher in exchange to be part of the book tour, in exchange for an honest review once the book has been published. So yes, five books purchased in the month of November meaning I’ve added even more books to my TBR when I really need to start reading the ones already on the list.

I’ll start from the bottom or the picture and work my way up!

  • Doctor Who: The Complete History- Issue #31
    I’m still collecting these books and I’ve missed one so far, but I can order previous issues on line so I’m not worried. This one looks at the episodes The Time of Angels, Flesh and Stone, Vampires of Venice and Amy’s Choice.
  • Watson and Holmes by Karl Bollers, Rick Leonardi and Paul Mendoza
    This is a graphic novel, based loosely around the Sherlock Holmes stories but with a twist- they’re African American, and they’re solving crimes in the Harlem area of New York. I can’t wait to read it!
  • The Girls by Emma Cline
    A brand new hardcover copy of this book was up on a local buy and sell site for a great price so I couldn’t resist. I’d never heard of this book but the story sounds really interesting!
    Northern California, during the violent end of the 1960s. At the start of summer, a lonely and thoughtful teenager, Evie Boyd, sees a group of girls in the park, and is immediately caught by their freedom, their careless dress, their dangerous aura of abandon. Soon, Evie is in thrall to Suzanne, a mesmerizing older girl, and is drawn into the circle of a soon-to-be infamous cult and the man who is its charismatic leader. Hidden in the hills, their sprawling ranch is eerie and run down, but to Evie, it is exotic, thrilling, charged—a place where she feels desperate to be accepted. As she spends more time away from her mother and the rhythms of her daily life, and as her obsession with Suzanne intensifies, Evie does not realize she is coming closer and closer to unthinkable violence, and to that moment in a girl’s life when everything can go horribly wrong.
  • A Boy Made of Blocks by Keith Stuart
    I was sent this book from Sphere Publishing (Part of Little Brown and Co.) as part of the book tour. I’m really intrigued by this book- it involves a young boy with autism and his dad- and they bond over the computer game Minecraft. It sounds so sweet and I can’t wait to get to it as soon as I finish the current book series I’m reading.
  • Boyfriend by Christmas by Jenny Stallard
    I saw this book for £1.99 today and I was drawn in by the cover being a singleton. I just thought it would be a perfect contemporary novel for the Christmas season!
    It’s bad enough to be perpetually single, without also being the dating journalist for a major lifestyle website. And Genie Havisham has just been set her toughest deadline yet: find a boyfriend by Christmas or find a new job.

    Determined not to end the year alone and jobless, Genie sets out to find where all the eligible bachelors in London have been hiding, using whatever means possible.

    But among the terrible dates, one night stands and the unexpected return of her ‘supposedly reformed’ ex-boyfriend, could Genie have overlooked what’s been right under her nose all along?“

Thanks for reading!
~Katie

cropped-dm-bookbanner.jpg

Leave a Reply

