Blog Tour- A Boy Made of Blocks by Keith Stuart.

9780751563290

Firstly thank you to Little Brown/Sphere Publishing for giving me this amazing opportunity to take part on the blog tour on sherlockianbooklover. This little book blog is going far!

I was lucky enough to be chosen to read and review A Boy Made of Blocks by Keith Stuart as part of a weekly blog tour. My day is Wednesday 18th January (today) and the list below features all the other book bloggers taking part on the same day as me.

So go head over to their blogs and read what they had to say!

blog_tour3

A Boy Made of Blocks:

 A beautiful, funny and surprising story of family and love, perfect for fans of The Rosie Project, David Nicholls’ Us and Nick Hornby’s About a Boy.

MEET THIRTY SOMETHING DAD, ALEX… He loves his wife Jody, but has forgotten how to show it. He loves his son Sam, but doesn’t understand him. Something has to change. And he needs to start with himself.

MEET EIGHT-YEAR-OLD SAM… To him the world is a puzzle he can’t solve on his own.

When Sam starts to play Minecraft, it opens up a place where Alex and Sam begin to rediscover both themselves and each other… When life starts to tear one family apart, can they put themselves back together, one piece at a time?

A Boy Made of Blocks is a beautiful, funny and heartwarming story of family and love inspired by the author’s own experiences with his autistic son

About the Author:

keith_stuart_2015_copyright_ashley_bird_horizontal-2

In 2012 one of KEITH STUART‘s two sons was diagnosed on the autism spectrum. The ramifications felt huge. But then Keith and both boys started playing video games together – especially Minecraft. Keith had always played games and, since 1995, has been writing about them, first for specialist magazines like Edge and PC Gamer then, for the last ten years, as games editor for the Guardian. The powerful creative sharing as a family and the blossoming of communication that followed informed his debut novel.

Follow Keith on twitter here: @keefstuart


I have already read and reviewed this book- you can find my review here: https://sherlockianbooklover.wordpress.com/2017/01/11/blog-tour-and-book-review-a-boy-made-of-blocks-by-keith-stuart/
(I couldn’t wait until the blog tour and had to post it up immediately)

My rating: Image result for five stars

However, I have to admit it was much better than expected and worthy of the five star review I gave it. Rather than re-write my review, I shall sum up my thoughts in bullet points to try and convince others that they NEED to read this book!


PLOT:

  • Alex and Jody split up- stress in the marriage (and Sam’s autism) causes strain.
  • Alex wallows in self pity
  • However, he still wants to help out with his son, agreeing to take him out and find him a new school
  • Probably begins to understand Sam more when he has him on his own
  • Minecraft- both Sam and Alex play it and it brings them closer
  • Was nice to see Sam try other things, even if he didn’t like it.
  • In the end, Alex realises how much his son really understands him.

Characters:

Jody– Sam’s mother and Alex’s wife. I can understand why she made the decisions she did, because she was always putting Sam first before herself, and she needed time to herself. With herself and Alex on a trial seperation she is able to do things for herself. I think this helped to build who she was as a person, not just as the mother to an autistic son.

Alex– The main character of the book, his struggles to understand his son and the loss of his job and breakdown of his marriage all have an effect on him as a person. Throughout the story, he doesn’t just build as a character but he becomes the father his son needs. They actually begin to understand each other.

Sam– Eight years old, doesn’t like school- a normal kid apart from the fact hes autistic. I actually love Sam, he’s adorable! I feel sorry for him, he doesn’t understand why his dad isn’t living with him and he deals with the world in his own way.

Sam is brave though. He’s brave, and he’s bright, and he’s probably my favourite character.

There were also some back ground characters including Alex’s sister Emma, his friend Dan, and his mother- who is a lovely woman despite living alone in Cornwall (not that that’s a bad thing.)

All characters have an effect on the story, none of them felt out of place.


 

To sum up, this book gave me a mixture of emotions, happiness, sadness, shock- but it made my heart swell and made me feel warm. As the first book I finished in 2017 it started off the year fantastically!

Please read this book, you won’t regret it.

DM-BookBanner

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s