March & April Wrap Up

As I was on holiday when the beginning of April started,  this wrap up is a joint wrap up of the books I read in March and April. There’s quite a few books on this list so let’s get started!

MARCH

I read seven books in March- which I am amazed at.

Image result for les mis book
Les Miserables by Victor Hugo (okay it took me a month but I finished it in March). I rated in 4/5 stars! You can read my review here.
It also completed two of the challenges on the Popsugar reading challenge!
– A book that’s been on your TBR way too long
– A book that’s more than 800 pages

Image result for the understudy david nicholls

The Understudy by David Nicholls- I gave this book 3/5 stars. There are a lot of 3 star ratings in this wrap up. I can’t actually find a review on here for it (oops) so I shall write up my review below.

#imagecol { overflow: hidden; }

<!–

Stephen. C. McQueen is an actor- or trying to be. Apart from a film playing a talking squirrel he hasn’t had much luck. That and his marriage has ended, so it’s clear to see his life isn’t the best.

Now he’s playing the 12th Sexiest Man, Josh Harper’s understudy! Josh is successful, handsome, with a gorgeous wife. He has everything Stephen doesn’t.

It was a good story that gave me a look into the theatre- even the less glamorous side. My only downside is that sometimes it was a bit predicatable. I did feel sorry for Stephen though, his wife has re-married, his seven year old daughter has grown up really fast. He’s losing them.

It’s no surprise he falls for Nora, Josh’s wife, but Josh was way too arrogant. The whay he teased Stephen was childish- just because he saw himself as better than him. He did have his nice moments too though- offering to fake an illness so that Steve can get his big break.

Then it happens- but not in the way promised. The consequences are a lot worse and after getting his big break, Steve turns his back on acting. I was disappointed that he made that decision but it turned out okay in the end!

I enjoyed this book, and I love David Nicholls writing style, but I still think this wasn’t my favourite by him. That still goes to One Day.

Image result for the memory of midnight pamela hartshorne

The Memory of Midnight by Pamela Hartshorne. I also gave this four out of five stars! My review can be found here
Popsugar reading challenge: A book set in two different time periods.
Image result for doctor who the deviant strainDoctor Who: The Deviant Strain by Justin Richards- it’s always nice to read a Doctor Who book 🙂 I gave this book a five star rating. You can read my thoughts in my review, that can be found here

Image result for holding graham norton

Holding by Graham Norton- I was pleasantly surprised by this book and I ended up giving it 4 out of 5 stars! If you want to know what I thought of this book, go and find my review which is here.

Image result for follow you home mark edwards

Follow you Home by Mark Edwards- I got this from Kindle Daily deals because I was curious about it and it was actually pretty good! I gave it 2.5-3/5 stars and again, I can’t find a review on here, so I will write my review below.

I picked this book up from the Kindle Daily Deals. It sounded intriguing and like a good thriller. However- the actual event that had repercussions on Daniel and Laura was not at all what I expected it to be. I felt a little let down- it was still horrible but I expected, and would have preferred, something scarier.

It only got scary once the villain of the story followed Daniel and Laura back to England (hence the title!)

It starts off in Romania, and then flicks between there and London, where Daniel and Laura are travelling before their passports are stolen and they’re thrown off the train. It’s after this event that they discover something gruesome.

It shakes up their perfect happy life, and when Daniel turns to drink, Laura’s sanity spirals.

So what happened- is there more to it?
Romania is haunting them.

It was a good story, I read on because I wanted to know what happened but I also felt that there was too much going on. As for the characters, Daniel was midly irritating- even though he was a stereotypical computer geek, he also over thought everything!

Apart from that, I felt that it had good premise and the swapping between countries kept it interesting. It had good structure and was quite a quick read so I did like it.

Related image

Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman. I’ve wanted to read this book for ages and I rated it 4/5 stars. If you would like to know more of my thoughts and feelings- my review is here.


APRIL

I also read 7 books in April! That’s 14 books over two months and honestly, if that’s not a successful two months reading then I don’t know what is!

Image result for the queen of new beginnings

The Queen of New Beginnings by Erica James was the first book I read in April, it was a cutesy book and I ended up giving it 4/5 stars. You can read more in my review here.

Image result for looking for alaska

Looking for Alaska by John Green. This is the second John Green novel I’ve read and I gave it 2.5/5 stars. Maybe 3. I’m still undecided because I have a few problems with John Green. My review is here.
Popsugar reading challenge: A book by an author from a country you’ve never visited (USA).

Image result for the summer of secrets

The Summer of Secrets by Sarah Jasmon. I loved this summer read, I mean, I know it isn’t summer yet but still. I rated this book 3/5 stars. My review is here if you want to take a look.
Popsugar reading challenge: A book with one of the seasons in the title.

Image result for flawed cecelia ahern

Flawed by Cecelia Ahern. This book, like Holding, was an Arc from Netgalley that I’ve read after release date (my bad!). However, I gave it 3/5 stars. My review is here.
Popsugar Reading Challenge: A book where the main character is a different ethnicity than you.

Image result for watson and holmes

Watson and Holmes by Karl Bollers and Rick Leonardi. The only graphic novel I’ve read this year but an excellent one! I gave it a very deserving 5/5 stars. My review and some other pictures of the artwork inside is here.
Popsugar Reading Challenge: A book with pictures.

Image result for vendetta catherine doyle

Vendetta by Catherine Doyle. Probably my new favourite series. I gave this book a rating of 4/5 stars. My review is here.
Popsugar Reading Challenge: The first book in a series you haven’t read before.

Image result for vendetta catherine doyle

Inferno by Catherin Doyle. The second book in the Blood for Blood trilogy. I like it so much more than the first one! To find out why, read my review here.
I gave this book 5/5 stars.


And that’s all the books I read in March and April!

Thanks for reading!
~Katie

cropped-dm-bookbanner.jpg

Leave a Reply

