Book Review: Prince Caspian by C.S Lewis

Image result for prince caspian book

Read between: 27th April- 2nd May
Format: Paperback
Number of pages: 190
Published: January 1st 1998
Publisher: Grafton
Synopsis: The Pevensie siblings are back to help a prince denied his rightful throne as he gathers an army in a desperate attempt to rid his land of a false king. But in the end, it is a battle of honor between two men alone that will decide the fate of an entire world.
Rating: 003d1-threestar

Review: In chronological order, this is the fourth book in the Chronicles of Narnia series (In publication order, it’s the second.) but it is the second  book to feature Peter, Edmund, Susan and Lucy who we first met in The Lion, The With and The Wardrobe.

However, hundreds of years have passed since their reign and when they are pulled back to Narnia, it is quite right they’re confused. It is then, after saving a dwarf named Trumpkin, that they learn about Caspian.

Caspian is the rightful heir to the Narnian throne but his uncle, King Miraz, will stop at anything to ensure Caspian never rules. He has other ideas.

So Caspian runs away.

He wants to defeat his uncle, and decides to call on the old Narnians of old, including the Penvensies- the High Kings and Queens of Narnia. The reason they have been bought back to Narnia, is because he called for them. Not that there’s much time for reminiscing- there’s a battle to be fought, a lion to be found and there is a lot crammed into the 190 pages of this novel.

Caspian did seem a little childish, I’m not sure how old he is actually supposed to be apart from the fact he’s the same age as Peter so I’d say about 15-16? He acted much younger, but being a prince and with his upbringing, I guess I can’t blame him.

Overall, it was nice to be back in the world. It’s been a while since I’ve read Prince Caspian- I remember the film much better! I did enjoy it though, but I felt that although it was Caspian’s story, the Pevensies could have features much more than they did.

I was also confused about the narrator. Was it Trumpkin- telling Peter, Edmund, Susan and Lucy about Caspian or was it the author? I mean at some points I guess it could have been both.

I was of course, very pleased when Aslan turned up. That made the story for me, because you can’t have a book based in Narnia without Aslan!

It was a good story, I liked it.

3/5 stars.
A re-read, but a lovely story to re-live.

Thanks for reading!
~Katie.

cropped-dm-bookbanner.jpg

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Prince Caspian by C.S Lewis

  1. I’ve only read The Magician’s Nephew in the Narnia Chronicles. Decent enough, but probably not the best one in the series. I should really get on with the other ones, but since I’ve seen all the films, I keep putting it off.

    Glad you enjoyed it! Prince Caspian is a lovely story.

Leave a Reply

