Book Review: The Gift of Charms

23219020

Read between: 9th- 17th May
Published: September 4th, 2014
Publisher: Dino Books
Format: ebook
Popsugar reading challenge: A book involving a mythical creature; A book from a non-human perspective
Genre: Fantasy
Synopsis: In a secret land, far away from the habitation of man, dwell the world’s remaining dragons — hoping the dragsaur beasts have vanished forever. Here they try to live their daily lives, but all is not well and their talents are fading.

Things change, however, when, from a strange egg, Yoshiko is born – a dragon with a unique destiny.

Great adventure lies ahead as many challenges must be overcome, leading to a dangerous mission to the human world in attempt to return to the clans their missing magic!

Can Yoshiko make it in time?

Rating: Image result for 2.5 stars

Review: The Gift of Charms is a children’s fantasy novel that follows Yoshiko, a young dragon who doesn’t fit in.

The writing was a little competitive in places, but I can let that slide considering it was written simply to make it easier to read. The target audience are young children, considering it’s a middle grade novel, which could explain why. However, I liked the premise and the story is great, it took a while for the reader, and Yoshiko, to discover what his fate was.

He was very sensitive though, for example, when he was bullied at school, rather than stand up to himself and show the reader that you shouldn’t let the bullies hurt you….he flew away and cried. I liked that the author included school bullies, in order to raise awareness to young readers but I felt it was taken in the wrong direction.

Another point about the simplicity is there wasn’t much world building, there was the description of the mountain ranges here and there but I don’t feel like I know Dragor enough to describe it. I thought I would fly through this book but I didn’t, I had a mini slump in the middle of it! It just didn’t pull me in like most fantasy novels do.

I liked the personification of the dragons, although sometimes they felt a bit too human…it wasn’t an unnatural perspective. If you replaced the characters with people, there wouldn’t have had much of a difference in their characters.

I finished it though, and I’m glad I did because it was nice to see them all celebrating, although a lot of the dragons were just like ‘oh okay that’s over, let’s get back to our lives.’ when a massive change had just happened!

I liked it- but I can definitely see children enjoying it more than I did. They can probably relate to Yoshiko. That being said, it’s a great premise and painted dragons in a better light than most fantasy novels- making them good and not monsters.

2.5 stars.

Don’t take my review to heart, if you feel like you’d like this book, then give it a go!

Thanks for reading
~Katie

cropped-dm-bookbanner.jpg

One thought on “Book Review: The Gift of Charms

Leave a Reply

