Book Review: The Ghost of Buxton Manor by Jonathan L Ferrara

31389365. sy475

Read between: 16th-18th June 2020
Format: ebook
Published: October 12th 2016
Publisher: HusbandandHusband
Synopsis: “Michael, don’t forget our Neverland.”

For nearly a century, the ghost of 17 year-old Rupert Buxton has been trapped in his childhood home. He spends his days reading, roaming, and trying desperately to recall his former life. Hope is restored when a boy his own age moves into the manor—a boy he quickly becomes fascinated by. This peculiar, modern boy is the first person that Rupert has been able to reveal himself to, and just might be the key to help him discover his mysterious past.

The Ghost of Buxton Manor is a young adult, LGBT paranormal fiction centered around historical figures Rupert Buxton and Michael Davies—the inspiration behind the real Peter Pan.

Rating: Five-star review | YSE Ski

Review:

Wow. That was so much more than I expected from a paranormal gay romance- yep you heard me.

So I received this book from the author at HusbandandHusband years ago. Thanks Jonathan and Aaron!- and I can’t believe it has taken me this long to get around to it and finish it.

It’s beautiful.

Not only is it wonderfully queer, but the narration is packed full of emotion and there were many times I felt myself tearing up.

The story is narrated by Rupert Buxton- the 17 year old son of a Baronet who died in 1917 along with his friend (and love) Michael Davies of the Llewelyn-Davies boys who were under the guardianship of J.M Barrie. Both Rupert and Michael were real people, and the story has been reinvented around the circumstances of their untimely death.

I really liked Rupert’s voice. It didn’t feel out of place, and his recollection of things he doesn’t recognise 100 years later genuinely made me believe he was from a different time.

When a human 17 year old boy, Aaron, moves into Buxton Manor with his family things start to change. Rupert starts to remember things.

Why has Aaron been drawing him? Why is he so familiar?

There’s twists and turns, and surprises, but they add to the story and don’t draw things away too much from the romance.

I adored this story. It’s not the classic ghost haunting human book, in fact some of the lines in the book really show how much the characters love each other.

“I watched Aaron collapse on the daybed, weeping into his palms. “But I don’t want to say goodbye.” “It’s the hardest thing for anyone to do,” she acknowledged. “Either in life or death, it doesn’t matter. Saying goodbye is the most difficult, yet most common unfinished business bestowed upon us ghosts. But, Rupert, once you cross through your door’s threshold, you’ll understand that there is no such thing as a ‘goodbye’. Though a powerful word, it is only just that: a word. I believe it was J.M. Barrie who had said it himself: ‘Never say goodbye because goodbye means going away and going away means forgetting.’ You and Aaron, even though you are parting ways now, it’s not really a goodbye, but merely a, ‘I’ll see you soon’.”

I was so worried that the ending wouldn’t be happy but I’m so glad it turned out the way it did. I was smiling before I was crying.

The Ghost of Buxton Manor is stunning. I would recommend it to everyone and I think I have a new favourite book.

5/5 stars.

STUNNING.
A ghost story that made my heart soar ❤️

Thanks for reading!
~Katie

cropped-dm-bookbanner.jpg

Leave a comment